Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Hide your kids, the bandit is back!


2007-01-20 at 2:33 p.m.

You know why I love working weekends? Because I'm in charge and I get the dubious honor of filling out an incident report attempting to explain why I blocked off the men's bathroom with crime scene tape (an ordering snafu a few years back has led to hours of fun messing with the public!).

What is a professional way of saying "bathroom looked like a shit bomb went off"?

Hmmm.

Men's northwest bathroom appears to have been held up by the shit bandit, with massive casualties.

By the way, getting to use the phrase "shit bandit"? Highlight of my day.

Arggghhhh.

Oh, and since it's the weekend, the cleaning crew doesn't come in until tomorrow night...so guess what gets to marinate? 'Cause if you think I'm going in there, you're barking up the wrong tree. I don't get paid enough for this shit. Hee hee. Pun intended.


Oh my Lord. Yet more evidence that a dangerous combination of television, sugary sodas and laziness has made people plumb stupid...

Someone just called me at the Reference Desk to ask about the "first war here."

It took a few minutes to decipher that this dude was talking about the Revolutionary War. I attempted to explain about the French n'Indian War, but that proved to be too much of a concept, so I stuck to the Revolutionary War. Then the guy wanted to know who fought in it. I told him and covered the phone with his hand and yelled, "See, mama? It was the British! You said it was the Germans, but it was the British!" This guy was like, 30.


Oy vey.

Also, a little girl just coughed on me. I swear, if I could do reference work in a big plastic bubble, I would be very happy.




< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com