Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

More Meat! Less Filling!


2007-03-05 at 4:37 a.m.

I waltzed into my shared torture chamber, I mean office space, Thursday morning to find this cheery little greeting on the white board: "The eyes of March are on you!"

I have to admit, I had to stare at it for a while, blinking, until my brain finished working through various explanations. Finally, I picked up a dry erase marker, wiped out 'eyes' and replaced it with 'ides'. Later, I heard one of the TS people exclaim, "what the hell is an 'ides'? did they mean 'idea'? 'ideas of march', that's stupid!" or something to that effect.

Quel horreur!

Although, I have to admit, I kind of like the idea of the "eyes" of March. It has a sort of Big Brother/Eyes of Texas thing about it.

Anyway, that was my horror story from this morning. I could practically hear an imaginary string section shrieking like in a Hitchcock movie as I stared at the white board. Next, I'll be chased by a plane across a corn field. Or beaten with a frozen leg of lamb. I'll let you know.

Considering the fact that I've pretty much dropped all pretense of being "nice" and "generally pleasant", not to mention "wholesome" and "good with animals" it's a safe bet that someone will hit me with frozen meat sometime in the near future.

Oh, I'm not a jerk or anything...I just don't try so hard to smile and be almost manically pleasant anymore. The other day the shelver was crying and I didn't once ask her what was wrong or try to soothe her, even though she was sniffling dramatically in my direction. I know what's wrong with her: her supervisor laid the law down on her and now she has to work. Boo hoo, sister.

I also quit seething quietly. Now I seethe loudly, in the direction of the seethee. I bring up things, point out faults and generally amuse myself by torturing co-workers that I dislike. Yup, I'd have to say things are getting better around here.

The new director seems to have a modicum of common sense, which is a relief. I was afraid they'd hire a little wooden puppet that would sit in the office and lie until her nose poked someone in the rear. Luckily, she does not appear to be made of wood, so lucky us! She laid the smack down on the Technical Services staff, the "eyes" of March crew, who have to be the most miserable group of human beings ever assembled in a library anywhere. Now they have to spend time working downstairs with all the dirty, seething masses and no sir, they are not happy. But I am. Glee!


Incidentally, does anyone else notice the homoerotic undertones of those Subway commercials with John Cena and Jared? Something about John, half naked, yelling "more meat!" and Jared looking like he wants John to whip out a jar of Vaseline and a whip.

Or maybe it's just me. I do like sandwiches.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com