Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Just call me Granny Battle-Axe


2005-03-28 at 5:30 p.m.

I generally regard myself as fairly irresponsible, immature and goofy. However, I have a friend who makes me feel like a damn mother hen. I look at all the things she does in her life, all the choices she makes and it absolutely drives me fucking nuts. How can someone so smart be so, well...stupid?

She has bad taste in people and a tendency to make herself vulnerable to them, no common sense whatsoever and a lassaiz-faire attitude that keeps her floating from self-induced disaster to self-induced disaster. When she bothers to contact me, (due to yet another series of unfortunate events, she's internet-less and phone-less) her missives are dotted with tales of woe that make my hair curl. How can someone make it to the age of 24 (almost 25) and not be at least somewhat (reluctantly, in my case) responsible?

Over Christmas, she let it slip that she was casually seeing some guy with S&M tendancies who was in a relationship with someone else. His girlfriend was, apparently, "fine" with him seeing my friend. When I, not surprisingly, lit into her on issues such as not poaching on other people's preserves, the dangers of sex with people you don't know all that well (such as the ultimate STD-kids)and whether or not this guy was completely full of shit, she shook her head and said, "See, this is why I didn't want you to know."

Because I would point out the obvious. Because I would disapprove. Because I would wonder how the hell the valedictorian of our high school class could be so careless with herself and her future and how she could have so little self-esteem that she would do something like that.

It pisses me off more than anything that she makes me sound like some sort of prudish grandmother (yes, this is the same girl who did the whole half-naked guy licking thing I mentioned yesterday), that she makes me seem tight-lipped and boiling with Puritan values. Dammit. I AM NOT!

It's not that I'm a prude. I'm really not. I just don't understand how she can have so little pride in herself. In this case, I'm not particularly ashamed to admit one of my prejudices: I would never have casual sex with anyone. Sex is such a complicated thing and it carries so many potential problems that, frankly, the half-hour or so of happy-fun time isn't worth all the complications that could come from it. And, I have yet to find a guy whom I think deserves me. There. I admit it, I'm a snob. But shouldn't I be?

Maybe I'll change my mind on the sex issue if they take me off my medication. It apparently causes sexual side-effects. Maybe they'll take me off the Effexor and I'll be a randy goat. Who knows? But this is how I feel right now. I am vexed.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com