Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

The weirdness began at 10 AM


2007-09-01 at 11:11 a.m.

So, I'm working this weekend at the reference desk and the phone rings...

(edited because someone in a library livejournal community I belong to got fired for blogging about work, so now I'm paranoid)

Me: [Beep] Library, this is the reference desk.
Patron: Is this [Gem-chan]? You sound sexy.
Me: ...
Patron: Sorry. Anyway, I'm out in the middle of nowhere, in [town 3 hours from here] and I'm hunting. And, I lost my gerbil. Do you have the number for Petsmart?
Me: Petsmart in [town 3 hours from here]?
Patron: No, Petsmart in [town I live in].
Me: Sure, I'll look it up for you.
Patron: I used to really like [name of other reference librarian], but she got married. Are you married?
Me: Here's the number...
Patron: Don't ever get married. I've tried it a few times and it's horrible.
Me: Is there anything else I can help you with?
Patron: Nope, thanks!

Huh? Not as crazy as Thursday's patron who wanted information on and a picture of a Grand Duchess Anastasia Romanov impostor who lived in Stamford Connecticuit so he could solve her murder and bring her killer to justice, but...I have to ask...why does the other fellow need a gerbil in the woods? And just where is the missing gerbil? What the heck is he hunting? Do I want to know? Probably not.

P.S. I have no idea who this person is or how he knows my name.

P.P.S. I do have a super sexy phone voice. I can't help it if God gave me with a sexy phone voice! It's both a blessing and a curse!



Currents...

Currently Watching...
Now that House, season 3 is finally out on DVD, I can watch it! - I have this thing about watching TV series out of order (I won't do it), so I usually have to wait until a series comes out on DVD before I'll watch it.

Currently Hearing...
The whine of co-workers, the clack of keyboards.

Currently Reading...
Now that Harry Potter is over, I'm searching for other really really good fantasy novels. So, I'm currently reading the His Dark Materials series by Phillip Pullman (The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, The Amber Spyglass) and enjoying them immensely.

I glanced at then website for the movie and I have to say that I do like Daniel Craig as Lord Asriel. And Nicole Kidman is an interesting choice for Mrs. Coulter. Sure, her hair's not dark, but she's got ice queen down.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com