Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I'm An Addict!


2003-10-28 at 11:52 p.m.

I think I've been drinking too much Diet Coke lately. See, I've started to get an upset stomach when I drink them.

I'm thinking I need to cut back on my case every two days habit.

A friend of mine who works at a restaurant told me once that they are constantly having to replace the hose on the Diet Coke dispenser because the aspertame eats through the rubber. Which is probably what's happening to my stomach lining. Bah. Stupid deadly delicious diet drink.

Anyway, today I went cold turkey and only drank juice or water. And I am dying. Apparently, I'm a caffeine addict. So, I have the WORST DAMN HEADACHE IN THE WORLD! ARGH! I've had the maximum alloted daily dosage of Advil and I still feel like there's a power drill slowly boring into my brain. OH MY GOD!

Ahem. Anyway. When I was in college, I used to have a 20 oz. Coke and a Vivarin in the morning to keep me going until I collapsed. Frankly, I'm amazed my heart didn't explode out of my chest. As it was, I was jittery and had a tendency to say dumb things in class.

Once, I made a Star Trek analogy in a philosophy class and all the hoity toity black turtleneck wearing self proclaimed atheists were horrified. I thought it made perfect sense, actually, most of the people I've told about it agree with me.

It had to do with that episode where Spock gets a flower thing attached to his back (or maybe he just breathes in the pollen, I don't remember) which makes him happy. So, Kirk beats him up to force him to be himself again, because, well, Kirk was really creeped out by HappySpock running through the fields with a picnic basket and a blonde, smiling and laughing and being highly illogical. So, he beats Spock up and makes him Spocky again. The happy people who had infected Spock asked why Kirk didn't just leave him alone and Kirk said it was because it wasn't 'true happiness'.

It was in relation to Rousseau or Hegel or something like that. What? I thought it made sense.

Moving on. I also made some rather interesting WWF analogies in a history class, talking about 'the emperor's elbow' and how all the people in China could 'smell what he was cooking'. It was in relation to some sort of sorcery scare in the 18th century and how the emperor 'put the smack down' on the people who were causing a panic. Ha. At least I made the classes interesting.

Why was I even talking about this? Oh yeah. Caffeine addiction. My mind tends to wander when I'm in pain.

Bah! I hate being at work when I have a headache and it's busy. It's getting towards the end of the year and everyone either has a paper due or they're trying to get all the reserve reading they've been inherently too lazy to deal with done.

I'm on my feet either way and when the dumb ones who have managed to avoid setting foot in the library all semester come in and expect me to hold their hand through the process of finding books and checking them out, well, let's just say that they can smell what I'm cooking and it ain't succotash. Hah. Where do I come up with this stuff?



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com