Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I am an adult! Ack!


2004-03-04 at 2:47 p.m.

Well, this afternoon when I appeared at work, the President of the Earlville Free Library Board of Directors was waiting for me. I had barely shrugged off my sweater before she offered me the job as director. Woo! You bet your sweet ass I said yes.

There was a board meeting last night and, according to the President and the current Director, the decision to offer me the job was unanimous. I'm a bit verklempt.

I have a meeting with the board next Tuesday to discuss my new position, the perks, etc. I'm still a little...numb? Is that the right word?

I know that I was sort of expecting it, but, as a defensive measure, I had refused to allow myself to hope too much or to decide that the whole thing was settled and done in my favor. I've been too disappointed in the past to allow myself to get my hopes up.

But now, it's a sure thing. You are reading the writings of the new Director of the Earlville Free Library. Holy crow.

I am officially an adult and frankly, it's a little scary.


Currents...

Currently Reading...

Timeline by Michael Crichton.

It's actually pretty good. I haven't heard good things about the movie, though.

Currently Hearing...

'Live Through This' -Hole

I'm 15 again! And angsty! Seriously, though, this is a great album.

Currently Watching...

One Piece. Mad pirate anime. Woo!

Currently Thinking...

Well now I have to go and buy responsible clothes. Bummer.

0 Promote This!

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com