Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Angst, angst and more angst!


2004-08-07 at 11:24 a.m.

God, yesterday was a crappy day.

It started at 7 A.M. when one of my employees called me and informed me that she was sick, in the hospital, and wouldn't be able to work.

No, I'm not mad at her for being sick. I'm not an asshole, people. It's just that next week is the week I'm out because my parents are visiting, and my other two staffers are out on some sort of family thing, which means that the sick girl was going to take their shifts as well as hers, but now it doesn't look likely.

If she can't work that means that all of my employees are unavailable for work next week. My choices are thus far: blow off my parents who flew 2,000 miles to see me and work all next week or close the library for a week. Neither one is good. Plus, the board members are pissed at me because this happened. It was an accident that everyone scheduled their vacations at the same time. If this girl hadn't gotten sick, it wouldn't have mattered. Argh. Poor girl, though. I do hope she gets better, and not just because of me.

As if that stress wasn't bad enough, I also managed to lock myself out of my apartment yesterday. I couldn't get ahold of my landlord, but luckily, one of my patrons is a boy scout and apparently in boy scouts they teach you how to break into people's apartments. He broke into mine and let me in. Nice kid.

I'm tired and feeling very crappy about everything. Plus, I have to clean my apartment today and take over that girl's shift at the library. Waa.

0 comments so far

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com