Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Apartment Hunting


2003-09-25 at 12:12 a.m.

Ugh. So, my roommate and Baby J are moving out of our house this December. I've decided that I want to move into an apartment because, even though I love the old house, it's a HOUSE and it's just going to be me and Hilde.

Just me and the cat rattling around a three bedroom, 1 and 1/2 bath house? Nah. Plus, I kind of want a change of scenery, you know? This would be my first apartment, my first living on my own. I don't count this past year because living with my roommate and Baby J was just like being in college.

I called a real estate agency today to see what was available for rent in my village. I want to get an early start because, more than likely, I'll be competing with college professors for a place to live. I found this great place that's, get this, right next door to the library in this lovely old brick building.

Pros: Recently renovated, big, beautiful woodwork, wrought iron balcony that looks out over the park next to the library, water and garbage paid, plowing service in the winter, central location (next to the library, across the street from the Opera House and grocery store, on top of the Village Cafe).

Cons: Above a restaurant, I have to pay electricity, the road in front of the building is busy and I worry about Hilde. Also, it's $650.00 a month. My roommate and I were paying $600.00 a month for the house, split between us.

The agent mentioned a few other places I might be interested in and some I am definitely NOT (one above a liquor store in the not so great part of the village), but I really like the idea of that apartment next to the library. I mean, how great would it be to live next door to your job? I could just roll out of bed and hop over.

I guess my only two worries are the expense and Hilde. I worked out a budget (depressing!) and I can swing the extra $350.00 (thank goodness my parents still help me out!)so, I suppose my real concern is my cat.

Does that sound stupid? Planning a life around the cat? I want to get another cat because I sincerely believe that cats are sociable creatures and need company besides humans. If I got another cat would Hilde stay in more? Would the two of them go out a lot? I worry now when Hilde is outside. Just the other day, I nearly had a coronary when the stupid little shit ran in front of my car as I was coming home. I ALMOST RAN OVER MY OWN GODDAMN CAT!

Argh. I'm going to look at the other places and this apartment. If I absoltuely fall in love with it, I suppose I'll have to make some adjustments. On the up side, I get to go shopping at IKEA since I have no furniture of my own. I recently did a dry run and furnished an apartment for about $800.00. That includes a bed, couch and dining room set. IKEA rocks!

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com