Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Apartment Update


2003-10-23 at 11:16 p.m.

As there is no Friday Five this week, I am forced to provide real content. How tragic.

I went with the realtor to look at that apartment today. It's on the same street where I live, only down...down towards the ghetto. Yes, the ghetto of Earlville. Okay, it's not actually a ghetto. There are just some old, abandoned buildings nearby. And a river.

The building was okay, not exactly gorgeous outside. Apparently, it used to be a liquor store, among other things. How ancestrally appropriate. All my alcoholic relatives are smiling. Anyway, the building is well maintained and has a laundry facility, which is nice since I was looking at dragging all my crap down to the laundromat whenever I ran out of underwear. In the winter, with six feet of snow on the ground, that is not fun.

The apartment itself is on the second floor. It has a low ceiling, but I'm a bit of a midget anyway, so that's not a big deal. They just put in new carpeting, too, which is nice. Two bedrooms, a kitchen and bath, small dining area and a living room type situation. Not bad.

The real estate agency owns the building and takes care of maintenance, trash and plowing. I would take care of electric and heat. Since I usually keep my core temperature around 80 degrees and the areas around me about 65 to 70 degrees, I don't anticipate huge bills. I told the lady that I was definitely interested and that as soon as I find out what the hell my roommate is doing, I'll let her know.

I'm looking at moving in early January, since I just can't scrape together first month's rent and a deposit in a month and a half. It'll come out to $1075.00 due at signing. Plus, I have to buy furniture, because I don't have any. God. This whole thing is a pain in the ass.

However, once January is over, I'll be okay finance-wise because once I pay the deposit and buy furniture, I won't have anymore big expenses.

I have to go now and make arrangements to sell my kidney on e-bay.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com