Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Off With Their Heads!


2003-08-11 at 3:19 p.m.

Ha ha! I love my new layout! Don't you just want to give strong bad a hug? An evil hug? If you don't know who strong bad is, well then click on his link at the bottom and become enlightened.

I am having one of those days. Sort of. I've definitely had worse, that's for darn sure. But anyway, on with the bitchin'. So, I got up late and had to rush through my toilette, and made it to the library 10 minutes early, with my lunch in tow. There were already people waiting, with their faces pressed against the glass. God, I hate that. So, I went in through the bat door. (AKA: The back door)

The savages were howling at the gate while I turned on computers, got the sign-in sheets ready, etc. I also began heating up my lunch.

Normally, I usually have about half an hour of down time on any given weekday to eat my lunch. Not today, kids. My pasta got cold and gummy while I ran around like a chicken with its head cut off.

Everybody poured through the doors, and none of them just wanted a damn book. Noooo. They had special requests and problems and questions and nothing could be solved in under five minutes.

While I was putting the new Seventeen on the shelf, an old woman came over and asked for old issues of Good Housekeeping. I pointed to the G section of the magazines. But she's deaf as a post and decided that I was hoarding them. In my hand. So, she tried to take my copies of Seventeen.

So, I got into a tug of war with a deaf old woman over Seventeen. Finally, I said as loud as I could, "THESE ARE NOT GOOD HOUSEKEEPING!" She blinked and looked down at the magazine and said, "Oh, I though this was Good Housekeeping."

Now, kids, tell me, would you ever, even in the throes of your deepest dimensia, mistake Seventeen for Good Housekeeping? I didn't think so. Old Lady, who also happens to be the Poop Lady, wandered off and proceeded to knock down a book display and take a brand new book that I hadn't even cataloged yet and wander around with it for half an hour while I, thinking that I had lost my mind, turned the circ desk upside down looking for it.

Then she brought it back and yelled, "I DON'T WANT THIS!" I swear on all that is holy, my left eye twitched. So, I snatched it back from her and put it in the system. Lord, I breathed a sigh of relief when she took her disaster circus out the door.

Argh. Books to be shelved. Work to be done. I wish I could stand on the library roof and pour boiling pitch on the savages as they try to return overdue videos and tattered, sticky copies of the Kama Sutra. Ewwww.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com