Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Carnivores, asshats and cows...OH MY!


2003-07-08 at 7:19 p.m.

Ugh. So, as part of my requirements for my Distance Learning courses, I have to spend a week at the University, going to class, socializing, etc.

I am here at Syracuse and I am living in a dorm for the first time in four years. Dorms suck.

For my amusement during a tedious lecture on telecommunications, I wrote out little notes that I am going to craft into a journal entry.

Gem-Chan's "I Want It To Look Like I'm Taking Notes, But I'm Really Goofing Off" Journal Entry:

1. Well, I am obviously some sort of wildebeast. I am in a room filled with vegetarians who, during the lunch break, discussed Upton Sinclair's "The Jungle", the evils of the meat packing and dairy industry and the cruelty that veal calves are subjected to. And, among these vegans sits a monster. Me, a baby-calf killing Jello eating carnivore with blood dripping down my chin.

Yes. I admit it. I eat meat. I thoroughly enjoy it. I only feel a minimal amount of guilt when I order veal picatta at my favorite Italian restaurant. Dammit, I'm from Texas! We give our babies bottles full of liquified meat. We start 'em young.

2. Holy shit. We just had to turn in a 500 word essay on some of the reading we've done this summer. Some felch-master just turned in a paper that was bound. 500 words...a page long and he had it bound! That asshat just blew the curve for everyone.

A couple of us disgruntled future librarians are gonna catch up with him after class and kick his ass. Don't fuck with librarians.

***Random One-Liners and Off-the Wall Musings***

1. What the hell is data mining?

Can you get data lung?

2. I wonder if I can work the phrase "shizzle my nizzle" into this information ecologies book discussion?

3. Librarians, cows, catapults...librarians, cows, catapults...there has got to be a link here somewhere.

4. You can smack the guy who won't stop talking with a tiny wooden hand. (Random Pamie moment. Sorry. I just read her book and loved it.)

5. The back of that guy's head looks like a chicken drumstick.

That is all people. The rest of my notes talk about information ecologies and Moore's Law, neither of which I would unleash on an unprepared and unsuspecting public.

TTFN!

Gem



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com