Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

But I waaaaant it!


2005-06-04 at 5:33 p.m.

Wooohahhh. What a week. Baby J, Special K and Science Boy took up a lot of my time. Baby J is apparently going through a brat phase (saw this one coming a mile off, that girl is so cute, how can she NOT be spoiled?) and I had to witness it for the first time in 8 months. And I wasn't just a witness... she kicked me a lot and tried to de-pants me in public. Not cool, little lady. The pants stay ON.

I also had to witness the new hardcore discipline Science Boy has instituted because Baby J's whining and insufferability has driven him slightly insane. I give him mad props for loving Special K enough to stick around despite the fact that Baby J might just be the [cute] spawn of Satan, and for wanting to be involved with Baby J's upbringing.

Essentially, under Science Boy's new totalitatian rule, stuff gets thrown away when Baby J's bad. I'm not sure I approve when it's my presents that get tossed (damn it, why did I buy it, then?!) but it does seem to work somewhat.

Special K, who is occasionally powerless in the face of Baby J's [cute]evil power (which is wierd because she's a kick-ass high school teacher normally), is having problems with it. As we were hugging goodbye she asked me to dig some of the really important stuff out of the trash and mail it back to her. Hmmm. I will because some of it was stuff I just gave Baby J for her birthday, but I wonder what this will do to the new discipline?

Being around Baby J did have the unintended effect of reminding me why I don't want a child of my own. Mostly because I am selfish like one and two selfish people co-existing is a recipe for disaster. The world doesn't need another fucked up little narcissist, so I'll just limit my negative impact to a mal-adjusted cat who can only wreak havoc on pizza delivery guys.

Having 3 extra people making themselves at home in my apartment also reminded me why I live alone. You know, for the privilege of wandering around in my underwear, watching infomercials at 3 A.M. and going to the bathroom any damn time I please. I am also too selfish to be in any kind of meaningful relationship, apparently.

Damn it. Does this mean I'm going to be a crazy cat lady, wandering around in my underwear, watching informercials and having conversations with my cats? I'm doooomed! Doooooomed!

Doooomed! Ahem.

This week, I also presented the new 5-Year Plan to the Board and had them approve it. I rock! Writing long range plans is an evil akin to grant writing, which, as you all know, was developed by Satan for the times when he needs a good laugh.

And... today was the library ice cream social, which was a huge success. We ran out of ice cream, so I had to run across the street to the store and buy 3 tubs to feed the ravenous hordes of people. It was fun and the library got good P.R.
Although I didn't have much to do with it being a success, I'm going to pat myself on the back anyway. I rock!


Currents...

Currently Reading...
Heh heh. Smut.

Currently Watching...
Scrubs, season 1 on DVD. Zach Braff, I love you. I may even love you enough to relinquish control of the remote. Maybe.
(Also, may I say: BANNANA HAMMOCK! Nicole is right, that does have the potential to take over your life.
What's the weather like? Bannana hammock.
What's pi? Bannana hammock.
Help! I'm on fire! Bannana hammock!)

Currently Hearing...
Zwan - Mary Star of the Sea
Good lord, the song Honestly is better than Prozac for making me happy.
Radiohead- Hail to the Thief
Wooo, Thom Yorke, I love you, even though you scare me.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com