Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Bang the drum slowly


2005-02-17 at 11:50 p.m.

I was wrong about the assisted living place for Bobito. He was supposed to be moved yesterday, but in what is yet another addition to a long list of lies, retardedness and just plain laziness, my mom was informed today that he didn't qualify for assisted living. After a week of being told that he was to be moved with no problems. Not only that, but the hospital/insurance company wants to discharge him on Monday.

He can't walk. He can't take care of himself and Momdingo and Big Al can't stay home to help him. And they want to send him home.

Momdingo is madder than I have EVER seen her and believe me, I specialized in pissing her off for about seventeen years. Just now, she called and I tried to joke her out of her bad mood, because that's what I do, and she was silent for a few beats before she bit my head off in such a ruthlessly efficient manner that, even as my head rolled around on the floor, I couldn't help but be both terrified and impressed.

She has a meeting tomorrow with the insurance company big wigs and she's taking her lawyer. I kind of wish I could be there for that. It will probably be like watching a fight scene from Rocky. Only with less blood and more talking, and I'm pretty sure no one will be named Adrien. Bam! Pow! Sock! Shoe! Momdingo and the Boy Lawyer in action. Holy Litigation, Batman!

Quick, how many dated pop culture references can you find?

Meanwhile, I'm lolling about up here in the Antarctic where the dirtiest phrase on everyone's lips is "Lake Effect". Damn you, lakes! Damn you and your effects straight to Hades!

There is a good chance that I get to go to prison sometime in March, and not because of my constant harassing of patrons with overdue items, either. It's part of my internship. I get to go to a prison library. Whee.

I'm also going to Albany in March for Library Advocacy Day. It will be an especially heated protest because of the big library budget cuts Pataki authored. Maybe this year will be the year when I am finally gassed and shot with rubber bullets. A girl can hope.

Here's some pics from Lobby Day 2003. I'm in there somewhere. Behind the drum dude, I think. And I'm in some of the crowd shots. I wanted the cowbell, but the other chick beat me to it.

Also, here's some general information on Library Lobby Day 2005. You should try to go if you can. (That is, if you live in New York state) Most New York libraries and library systems will probably have some sort of trip to Albany and you might be able to hitch a ride.

And even if you don't live in New York state, you should find out what kind of state your libraries are in. Things are pretty dire all over the country for libraries.

For example
And how about this?
And this?

Make a donation to your local library, write your legislator/local representative to tell them how important libraries are. The ALA has some great suggestions on how to be an advocate as part of their Campaign to Save America's Libraries, check it out if you are so inclined.
Okay, I'm done pimping libraries.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com