Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

In Which I Bitch Slap Famous Literary Characters


2004-06-05 at 4:02 a.m.

Sometimes, I just want to slap Heathcliff.

No, not the cartoon cat, although he's kind of annoying and uppity, too. No, I'm talking about Bronte's Heathcliff. I also want to slap Catherine. Jesus, lady, get a clue. Hell, they all annoy me. Linton! Get a bloody spine!

*slaps everyone in Wuthering Heights*

I started reading it again after reading 'The Well of Lost Plots' by Jasper Fforde, in which all the characters in the novel are forced to take anger management classes, which made me cackle.

You can read Wuthering Heights online at various sites, including this one.


Today's annoyance, besides Heathcliff, is people who spell my first name 'Margret' and those who dare to call me 'Maggie'. Damn you all.


Today, okay, yesterday, was my dad's 60th birthday. He's been depressed because he has officially outlived his own father, who died at age 58. I tell him it's a good thing, but he's kind of cranky about it.

His brother flew down to ELP to visit him for his birthday, which is very nice of him. My uncle has lost 35 pounds since he moved to L.A. Maybe I should move there?

He's also dating a woman that he went to high school with and whose mother was good friends with my grandmother. They apparently re-connected at a high school reunion and now they're dating, which I think is sweet. Go Uncle Dave! Three's a charm, right? Right?

Did I mention I get to go to L.A. for Thanksgiving this year? I've never been to L.A. before, just San Diego and San Francisco, so I'm excited. Maybe I'll see some famous people and become incoherent ala James Carville and the Cheese Incident. Woo.

Uncle Dave also sent me some pictures of my cousin and his lover (ha! take that, mom!) in Sweden, frolicking in the Swedish fjords. They've been camping out all around western Sweden and living off nutella and variou sundries in tubes. Apparently, in Sweden, you can get almost anything in a tube. Cool.


Is Mos Def not the sexiest black man ever? Mm mm! Sassy black man!


Currents...

Currently Reading...

Bloody Wuthering Heights, in which everyone is as mad as pants.<-my new favorite phrase.

Currently Watching...

Autopsy 8, Monty Python's Flying Circus

Currently Hearing...

'Thank You' the best of the Stone Temple Pilots

1 comments so far



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com