Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

35 Years of the Bob and Rosie Show


2003-12-15 at 1:44 p.m.

I take back all the nice things I ever said about snow. Snow sucks. I spent a half hour digging my car out of the little snow box the thoughtful people at public works plowed around it and then I spent an additional thirty minutes digging out the driveway so I could park in the garage. Dammit.

You know, I still haven't gotten around to moving. Things seem almost like normal. I am such a slacker. I have to be moved out of my house by Wednesday, Thursday at the absolute latest because I'm leaving for Texas again on Friday. Heh. I am such a lazy bastard.

In other news, yesterday was my parents' 35th wedding anniversary. They have been putting up with each other's crap for 35 years. 36, actually, if you count the year they dated before they got married. Considering that after 18 years of living with them, I was about ready to lay some smack down, I think it's especially impressive that they've stayed together all this time.

Almost all of their friends who got married around the same time they did are divorced now. I personally think it's because those people had kids right away. That's the common denominator. My parents were party animals for a decade before my brother was born. They had fun, went to Europe and Hawaii and were financially in good shape when they decided to have kids. It helps, I think.

I mean, think about it. They were both in school when they got married. My mom graduated not too long after, but my dad was still in law school for a while after that. They had debts to pay off, worked odd hours and just didn't have the time or money for children. So, they waited. Viva birth control!

It also helps, I think, that my mom is a frickin' saint. My dad was spoiled rotten as a child and still, on occasion acts like it, but she just shakes her head and ignores him. She says she married him because he was the wierdest man she'd ever met and he made her laugh. He says he married her because she said yes. Ah, incurable romantics, both of them.

But they are disgustingly cute around each other. My brother and I used to make gagging noises and leave the room, complaining loudly whenever my dad snapped my mom's bra strap and giggled or my mom slapped my dad on the butt and called him a stud. Now we just roll our eyes and tell them to get a room.

I can only hope to have a relationship like theirs. My mom says that dad's her best friend and they have fun together. I want that. They've had hard times, some of which I remember, but they've always managed to work things out and stay together, not for the sake of me and my brother, but for their sakes, because they love each other. Eww. How treacly. But, I gotta admit, in this day and age, it's a beautiful thing.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com