Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

It might be the meds talking, but...


2004-09-20 at 10:12 p.m.

I'd like to think I'm flexible. Mellow. Not too obsessed with everything being done a certain way. Yes, at the wee public library, I ocasionally go around straightening books on display and making them JUST SO, but still, you know, I don't have an attack if someone moves a book or something. I'm not set in my ways.

Today at Slightly Bigger Public Library, where I now hold down a second job, I was "trained" by my co-worker, a nice old man who is VERY and I do mean VERY set in his ways. It didn't matter that I already knew how to do things. No, it didn't matter because I didn't know how to do things HIS way. So, he has a very inefficient system for doing something and it takes me twice as long to do it as it normally would, but it makes him happy and who am I to deny a 70 year old man happiness?

Luckily for the world, I'm not obsessed with efficiency, otherwise things at the SBPL might have gone down the toilet. Plus, I only work with him once a week, so no big deal. Right on. Lord, I've been so mellow lately, you have to check me for a pulse.


What the hell does 'Runcible' mean? Nooo, it's not the tortured vocal cords of Scooby Doo trying to say 'lunchable'. Oh, the entire phrase is 'runcible spoon'. Apparently it's an obscurely coined term for 'a sharp-edged fork with three broad curved prongs'. Okay, so how the hell did the word 'runcible' get into my head, anyway? Are evil word gnomes whispering things into my ear whilst I sleep? Hmmm. That might explain burgle and Mandingo.


Ooh! The latest Thursday Next book is out! I MUST I MUST get my grubby little hands on a copy.


Currents...

Currently Reading...

Introduction to Indexing and Abstracting, 3rd ed. by Donald B. Cleveland

Zzzzz....zzzz....

Currently Hearing...

My upstairs neighbor peeing. Stupid thin floors and walls. Stupid loud peeing upstairs neighbor.

Currently Watching...

CSI

Dead Like Me

1 comments so far

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com