Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Nerdgasms and my friends are cool


2004-05-22 at 12:12 a.m.

Pardon me for having a nerdgasm, but, OH MY LORD!!

I have discovered a way to purchase Macromedia Studio MX 2004, normally about $899, for $35.

Yes, that's right. $35. That's a savings of $864. And it's not even illegal!! There are no pirates or shady deals in dimly lit bars with guys named Guido, nossir.

As the director of a non-profit, I can purchase this software for a signifigant ($864) discount. Can you imagine how sexy I can make the library website with this software?? Muy, muy sexy. People will want to marry this website. Truly.

I am so happy, I could cry.

*Sob*

Meanwhile, my very good friend, Mistress Chicken, has informed me that she will soon become a homeowner. She's 23, people, and has a business acumen that rivals Donald Trump's. With no college education, she has successfully run one of her father's many businesses, a furniture import/export type store, since she was 18. She once sold furniture to Tommy Lee Jones. How cool is she?

So, she's buying a house with about 5 acres of land and a barn. Here's how smart she is: The barn has 8 horse stalls. She's going to rent out 7 of them for $100.00 each a month, and her land produces hay and alfalfa she can sell for a tidy profit. She'll be able to pay her monthly morgatage without dipping into her salary. Goddamn, I want her brain.

She was telling me this while sitting barefoot in her big ass truck (which she owns free and clear)in a t-shirt and tank top, listening to the P.I.M.P. song in the parking lot of a country western bar while waiting to pick up a friend and wondering why people were staring at her. Lord, I love that woman.

Things are really going well for my friends. Special K got a job as a high school earth science teacher in Illinois for a tidy little salary, Moonspark got her first job as a TA for a freshman English class at NMSU. Mama Bear is happily married with an excitable 2 1/2 year old and Chupacabra is getting ready to graduate with a degree in international business. Plus, she speaks like 5 languages, so she kicks ass.

My friends are awesome. Then again, they wouldn't be my friends if they weren't, right? I am very picky about the people I associate with. I don't like to waste my time with casual friends or acquaintances, too much effort for too little reward, I find. So, either you play on team Gem-chan, or you're relegated to the minor leagues. Heh. A baseball anaology. This from the girl who only goes to baseball games for the hotdogs.

1 comments so far



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com