Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Satan has a job opening


2003-10-22 at 11:00 p.m.

They finally (after 2 months!) got around to posting the job description for my shitty-shift co-worker. They changed the days, though. I work Sunday-Thursday 10 PM-2 AM. If they tried to make me work Fridays, I'm fairly sure I would hop on over to the Price Chopper and purchase a couple of cans of whoop-ass. Even the generic brand will do.

Anyway, without further ado, here's the description in all its glory:

POSITION: Circulation Staff Assistant (no benefits)

10:00 PM � 2:00 AM, Sunday � Tuesday

6:00 PM � 10:00 PM Friday & Saturday

During the academic year

DEPARTMENT: Library

EXPECTED APPOINTMENT DATE: As soon as possible

ESSENTIAL FUNCTIONS: Assists patrons of Library at the Circulation Desk, responds to emergencies, monitors the noise level of the library, shelves books as needed and performs other duties as assigned.

QUALIFICATIONS: High School diploma. Computer knowledge helpful. Must be able to work with minimal supervision. Experience in working with the public preferred.

TO APPLY: Contact Catbert, Evil HR Director

DEADLINE: Review will begin immediately and continue until position is filled.

Let's see...the duties don't mention dealing with assholes, ILLs, reference, IT and pretty much everything else because you will be the only adult there after 10 PM. Nothing about how this job sucks away your energy and your very SOUL and turns you into the surly office drone you always deplored in the past. And they don't mention that a good deal of your salary will be eaten away by sodas that cost $1.50. Bah. I will automatically NOT respect anyone who applies for this job. Hell, I don't even respect myself.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com