Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Death, Celebrity and Klingons


2004-09-30 at 2:33 a.m.

Wooo, boy, I think I need to clean up the ol' apartment again. I nearly killed myself trying to get to the bathroom, tripping over a box of nail polish, a dumbbell, my ironing board AND iron and a bowl of something crusty that I think was once soup. Plus, one of my favorite shoes has been missing, for like a month. I think the spiders have taken it for ransom.


Heeeeyyyyy, I'm going to be in the paper. I'm gonna have to sexy myself up this weekend so I can look not-hideous for my photo-op next Thursday.

My library is sponsoring a showing of Fahrenheit 451 (NOT 9/11!!)at the local mono-plex and around here that's front page news.

I think I'll go and get my hair cut. Maybe get my eyebrows waxed. The lady down the street charges $6 for both eyebrows and she does a pretty good job from what I've seen.

Besides, if she weren't any good, I would have heard about it, like I heard about our own local dentist who is apparently some sort of coke-fiend. But his addiction to drugs isn't his worst transgression...no, his biggest sin is the fact that he doesn't decorate his house for either Halloween or Christmas. He's the only one on the block who doesn't, the bastard.


So, I did mention somewhere in here that my brother's getting married, right? And that I'm a bridesmaid? Right.

Well, I have a feeling that this whole wedding nonsense will be a topic de riguer for this journal in the upcoming months. His fiancee is Catholic. A Mexican Catholic, so this wedding is going to last 3 days. And there will be mariachis. 3 days of them. Crap.

Anyway, Big Al apparently told my parents they were paying for a lot of it and said they were "lucky" that he was planning a budget wedding. He and his fiancee want my parents to cough up something like 1/3 or 1/2 of the wedding costs.

I got in trouble for informing Momdingo and Bobito that traditionally, they are only supposed to worry about the rehersal dinner, tuxes and boutineers for the groom and groomsmen.

Momdingo informed Big Al that his magnanamous gesture of keeping costs down was duly noted that he was lucky that she and dad didn't die from choking on laughter when he informed them of their duty because then where would he be? He'd be out a tux.

I'm a little annoyed at my brother and his fiancee for assuming Momdingo and Bobito would just fork over the cash. I mean, it's not really their responsibility. They probably wouldn't mind helping some, but I think Big Al is being awfully high-handed about the whole thing. He should be grateful and licking boots.

They put him through college and law school. Dad invited him to join his law firm and Big Al currently lives large and rent free with them while he spends his money going to Vegas and on big, expensive engagement rings.

Is it so wrong to ask them to be a bit more...I don't know...considerate? Thrifty? Grateful? A bit of all three?

Shit. If I ever happen upon my lifemate then I'm all for eloping. My parents did it and look, they're still married and perfectly happy. Maybe I'll go to Vegas and get married by Elvis, or a Klingon. (And I'm all for a Chippendale waiter as my wedding usher. ALL FOR IT!!)



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com