Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Wrenching Entry


2005-04-22 at 5:54 p.m.

My parents exist on different ends of the spectrum when it comes to home repair. My mom owns a drill and is ready to take on all challenges. She's built concrete steps in the backyard, installed doors, locks, kickplates, toilets, shower heads, you name it. She once even blew off her eyebrows in a pilot-light incident. Mom is hardcore.

My father, however, comes from the "no matter how easy it is, pay someone else to deal with it" school. He doesn't like manual labor. The only hard work he does is with his brain. He would much rather pay extra for convenience than save a buck, which drives my mom nuts.

It also drives me nuts when it involves my money, as evinced with last week's new car fiasco. He actually told the car dealer that he'd rather pay $45.00 for the dealership to handle my title stuff than for me to go down to the DMV and do it myself for $10.00.

Tragically, this was MY MONEY we were talking about, so I put the kibosh on that. I'd rather wait in line and save $35.00. Plus, dad's evil vehicular machinations also cost me $200.00 in the name of convenience, but that's another story.

Anyway, I fall about in the middle of the handy spectrum. I don't mind doing some repair work on my own, however, my biggest problem is that I have a short attention span. I'll start a project, get half-way through it and forget it for a while. I repainted a door last year and it took me about 4 months because I got bored with all the paint stripping. I also never quite finished painting my old dresser. The drawers look nice, anyway.

Basically, I need do-it-yourself projects that last about a day. Otherwise, I'm doomed. I'm thinking about these things because my bathroom sink is leaking and I looked into fixing it myself, but discovered that it involves thinks like plumber's grease, nuts, (hee hee), wrenches and god knows what else.

I think I'll just call my landlord. But that, of course, means that I'll have to clean up my apartment, which looks as though a catalog/clothing bomb went off. I've been putting it off for a while, but the leak is starting to get kind of bad and I'm tired of brushing my teeth in the shower. *Sigh* Guess I'll clean this weekend.


Currents...

Currently Reading...
Catalogs, catalogs and more catalogs.

Currently Hearing...
Garbage's latest

Currently Watching...
Craft Corner Deathmatch


And now for something a little different, a new spin on an old BLOG mainstay, a sassy way to tell the world how I'm feeling today using the Dewey Decimal Classification System. God, I'm such a nerd!

Today I'm Feeling...
155.9 LUS !

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com