Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Easter Showers


2004-04-09 at 3:21 p.m.

I am de-gruntled. Someone just gave me a gourmet chocolate bear as a congratulatory gift for my promotion. Flowers and chocolate. I will be in a good mood for the next several days.

Incidentally, this Sunday is Easter, which means nothing to me currently. When I was little, it meant hunting for eggs in our backyard, but since I grew up in the desert, I can tell you that finding brightly colored eggs nestled in cacti wasn't as much fun as it sounds. It also meant the one day of the year we went to church and brunch at the Marriott. What's all this about Jesus? I thought Easter was all about FOOD and bunnies. Unless you're French. Then it's about FOOD and um, giant flying bells. The French are wierd.

Anyway, when my brother and I became too old for Easter egg hunts and my family collectively got too lazy to wake up on Sunday early enough to go to church or brunch, we dropped the whole thing almost entirely. I might not have ever noticed Easter, except for my love of stale Peeps and the ham my father would make for Sunday dinner.

This Easter Sunday, I'm not going to church, nor am I'm not hunting for eggs. But, I am baking a ham. See, I've started my own sort of mini-tradition where I invite some of my student workers, the ones who don't annoy me, to dinner. They love having real food and I like to cook.

This year, my guests include a Hindu (he's just in it for the food) and a goofy soccer player/geology nerd. They're good kids and we have fun during our shifts together.

The Hindu is the one who, along with several of his friends, is CERTAIN that he heard Sam call Gollum a douche bag during their fight in 'Return of the King'. He's bringing along a copy of the movie because I don't believe him.

And no, before you ask, 'Return of the King' is not yet out on DVD. Don't ask me where or how he got his copy. He has shady connections in his hometown of Calcutta, India. I feel slightly guilty for engaging in a moderately illegal activity, but I figure that I'll be buying the real DVD when it comes out, so I am able to soothe my guilt a little. I just really, really, really want to see if Sam really does utter the phrase "douche bag" I mean, I didn't even know they had showers, let alone bagged showers in Middle Earth.

(Nerdy French joke. Ha, ha.)If I can figure out how to get my microphone on my computer working, I'll try and record it.


It's Friday! Time for a career-oriented Friday Five.

1. What do you do for a living?

I'm a librarian.

2. What do you like most about your job?

The books.

3. What do you like least about your job?

Evil patrons.

4. When you have a bad day at work it's usually because... I'm at the Library of the Underworld.

5. What other career(s) are you interested in?

It's sooo girly! But I wanted to be a wedding planner or a stylist to a celebrity.

0 comments so far

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com