Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

The Party of Eh


2004-06-29 at 1:25 a.m.

I was watching the Daily Show again and Terry McAuliff, president of the Democratic National Committee was on and I was non-plussed. Jon kept asking questions and Terry kept dodging them, and when Jon asked what the Democratic party had going for it, McAuliff basically gave a breakdown of how great the convention was going to be, like the DNC was nothing more than a great big kegger for everyone.

No, Terry, that's not what Jon was asking. He wanted to know what the DNC stood for. You know, I've been a Democrat since I was in the damn womb and I can't tell you what the DNC stands for anymore. I know what I stand for, but that doesn't mean anything.

We used to be the party of the people, but over the past ten years or so, we've become the party of eh. The Republican and Democratic parties have grown so close, they're practically in bed together. It's frustrating to see it.

The Democratic Party needs to get a spine. We need to get away from the Clinton legacy, which was a near decade of waffling, appeasement and polls. We need to take a stand and not back down, we need to MEAN SOMETHING.

It's a risk, but damn it, isn't it more important to have a stand than to be a milquetoast? We need to have more going for us than just being "the non-Bush" party, we need to be able to offer America SOMETHING. We need to stop ruling by committee.

Blah. You know, I'm only about three hours away from Canada. If I leave now, I can be in Toronto by morning.

1 comments so far



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com