Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Quit giving me the fish eye!


2003-03-12 at 1:34 p.m.

People keep giving me the fish eye when I tell them I want to become a librarian. After they're done gaping, then they always ask the same question: Why? In a slightly bewildered/disgusted tone of voice, as though I had just expressed a wish to work in a sewer or give pedicures to lepers.

Since most of these people are Brimstone University students, who are busy grooming themselves for a life of corporate whoredom, I suppose I shouldn't be too surprised. But, other people have expressed the same amazement and confusion. Why would I want to become a librarian? FOR THE LOVE OF GOD...WHY?!

Crap. It's amazing that, if you want to work in a 5x5 cubicle, baking under florescent lights for twenty years, no one questions your motivation. If you want to spend your time chasing ambulances or sucking the fat out of society wives' asses, no one blinks an eye. But, if you want to go into public service and maybe make a difference in the lives of people who don't pay you a six figure salary for the priviledge, people shake their heads and question your sanity.

Maybe they aren't so judgemental if you don't have a degree from one of the top twenty universities in the country. Maybe, if I went to a state school or community college, people would nod and say, "Of course." But someone once had the nerve to suggest I was "wasting" my education.

Maybe when I go to my 20 year reunion (this is all theoretical, of course. I currently have no urge to ever see the assholes I metriculated with again), I will look around at all the Leona Helmsleys and Kenneth Lays and wish that I had put my $100,000 education to better use. Maybe I'll stare down at my worn, patched shoes and my second hand clothes and wish I had gone into a career with some giant corporation and spent my life pushing papers in a tiny cell, just so I could live beyond my means and own that Kate Spade bag I saw in the Macy's window while I was panhandling to pay my electric bill. But you know, somehow, I just don't think so.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com