Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Where Gem Talks About People and French


2003-04-15 at 12:56 a.m.

I don't think I'll be shocking anyone when I say that you can tell a lot about a person by how they treat those they percieve to be beneath them. But, damned if it wasn't true!

One of my favorite hobbies is people watching. Sometimes, when I'm at the mall or the grocery store, or at a restaurant, I entertain myself by watching people and how they interact with others.

I'm often accused (and rightly so) of making snap judgements of people I've just met. But, you know, I'm rarely wrong. I just watch them as they interact with people, especially waiters or waitresses, bartenders, clerks, cashiers, etc. And, as they go about their business I'm going over my mental checklist.

I was just mulling over this because one of my co-workers here at the University Library was telling me a story tonight about a Professor who, WHILE TALKING ON A CELL PHONE, berated her for not knowing how to do something that, in actuality, student staff workers aren't trained to do. In fact, she asked me about it and even I don't know how to do it.

Now, perhaps this lady is normally very nice. Maybe her blood sugar was low or something. But, I bet you next week's paycheck (All $1.50 of it) that she is an uppity, high riding bitch. I bet you didn't know that Ph.D. stands for Perfectly Horrible Douche.

Douche, by the way, is French for shower and one of my favorite pseudo insults. It amuses me greatly to call people a shower. Eddie Izzard knows what I am talking about. It's almost as funny as the Grand Tetons.

For those of you who didn't hear this in middle school and don't speak French, The Grand Tetons, which are a range of mountains in Wyoming, were named by some French men (presumably lonely fur trappers or something of the like with a twisted sense of humor and an enormous longing for a woman)for their shape. Grand Tetons means Big Tits. And damned if they don't look like big tits. Heh heh. God, I love the French. I stopped taking Spanish in high school just so I could learn French. Which language should I really know? Well...Spanish, but French was more fun!

I digress. No matter. I have typed myself out. Time to close the library!

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com