Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Adventures in Geekiness


2004-08-28 at 8:07 p.m.

I'm glad I have a dirty mind. Otherwise, I wouldn't be half as amused as I am most of the time.

For example, today while driving by a movie theatre marquee, I saw the following:

Princess Paddle

Hahahahahaaaa! Does that not sound like an S&M movie? Said movie theatre is always scrimping on marquee letters, leading to such hilarity as:

Christ Scooby

Suspect Anaconda

Alien Exorcist

Thanks for the laughs Glenwood Movieplex!


Grr. Now I have sewer fly thingies living in my drain. It totally bums me out. So, I cleaned all my dishes and then poured a shit-load of bleach down the drain with some hot water. Pray it kills 'em.

Why am I always infested? I mean, sure, I'm kind of a slob, but nothing horrible. Mostly, it's clothes strewn about, not food. Clothes, books and paper. Stupid insects. They piss me off.


I still have a bed, so yes! I no longer have a couch, though. My living room is tragic-looking now. I'm saving up for a futon.


I write fanfiction, because I am a geek, you see. Anime fanfiction, for various shows, mostly so I can practice my writing so that one day I will be able to write a fab novel, get drunk while at some big, important book party and molest Pulitzer-Prize winning novelist Michael Chabon. I have great plans for my future, indeed I do.

Anyway, fanfiction. One of my stories was nominated for a fanfiction award, in two different categories. That makes me happy. Of course, I am my own harshest critic, so while I am pleased, I am also a bit befuddled. Surely there are better authors than me?

Thing is, there really are only a handful of great fanfic writers. The rest are angsty teenagers with no grasp of spelling, sentence structure, plot, grammar, etc. So, it makes my story look extra good by comparison. It's kind of like putting Courtney Love next to...Sarah Jessica Parker, who I actually think is quite...creepy looking. But standing next to Ms. Love, she looks damn good.

There are a lot of Courtney Loves in fanfiction.

Now that I think about it, there are a lot of angsty-teen with inability to write a coherent sentence journals as well. So, in comparison, this journal must rock all y'all's socks. Wooo.

So, will I accept a victory that really isn't a victory at all, kind of like winning an election when no one else runs against you? Hell ya.


The Currents get longer...

Currents...

Currently Reading...

Maggie by the Book by Kasey Michaels

Currently Hearing...

Franz Ferdinand, Franz Ferdinand

Currently Watching...

Adult Swim, Forensic Files, Patton Oswalt's Comedy Special

Current Website...

Awful Plastic Surgery

Interactive Autopsy

Current Mild Annoyance...

Commercials on TV telling me that if I'm tired, cranky, fat, hungry, breathing, ALIVE, etc., there's a pill for me!

Current Nail Polish Color...

Maybelline Wet Shine...Fly Blue

0 comments so far

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com