Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

R.I.P. Good T.V.


2005-08-07 at 1:28 a.m.

I know I'm late on this one, but I am so disappointed to see that Showtime cancelled 'Dead Like Me'. It was one of my favorite shows. I usually like what Showtime has to offer, especially since network television is too hamstrung by advertisers and uptight morality-police to do anything interesting.

I thought 'Dead Like Me' was one of the few really original shows out there and it really captured my attention. It's always sad when networks don't allow a show time to grow and improve, but pull it at the first sign of trouble.

I see 'Fat Actress' is still on-a show I wanted to like, but was unable to after the first few shrill episodes-yet 'Dead Like Me', a quality show with excellent actors, darkly funny writing and deft direction is gone. Too bad, Showtime. I really wanted to like you.

Le sigh. I suppose it's back to not watching much television again. The crop of shitcoms and unreality T.V. shows that are on the boards for the fall look about as appealing as a freshly shat turd. My, I'm feeling rather scatalogical today.

Luckily, I still have a few shows to watch. There's a lot on Discovery Health that I enjoy, but not during the day. That's when they roll out all their baby propaganda. Since I neither have children nor desire any, watching hugely bloated women expell shrieking "miracles" only serves to reinforce my vow to keep my legs tightly shut lest I have one forced upon me. Kids are O.K., provided they aren't mine and I can give them back the minute I smell anything untoward.

Ahem. Moving on. Let's see, there's fun dreck on VH-1 to serve my occasional need for non-thinking entertainment, there's Bullshit! with Penn and Teller to keep me nice and militant, there's 'Iron Chef' Japanese to make me giggle and yell out 'Haute Cuisine!' in a velllly bad Japanese accent, there's Cold Case Files, the First 48, CSI and Law and Order: CI to keep me nice and cynical and my doors locked (and wary of certain food items), and there's Airline on A&E to remind me why I hate to fly. (Other passengers). I also enjoy 'The Family Guy' and 'American Dad', as well as whatever is on Adult Swim on Cartoon Network (except for their anime. I have this crazy bias for subtitles, not dubs. I know, I'm a snob!)

So, actually, there's plenty for me to watch. It's just that since my roster of approved shows is relatively small, I always feel it when a favorite gets cancelled. Boo hoo!



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com