Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Happy: An Explanation


2004-10-11 at 3:07 a.m.

Maybe I should explain my previous entry. It was a bit...ambigous. But first, let's pause to blow bubbles! Wheee!

Ahem. Anyway, I've been sooper happy lately because I got a refund check from my university to the tune of $4,000.00. It's the left over bit from my financial aid. I did that on purpose so that I could have some money for living expenses.

So, on Friday, I paid my bills. I paid off two credit cards and then cancelled them, I put substantial money down on my two other credit cards (I know, I have waaaay too many, but for a while I was using them to pay college tuition), paid all my overdue utilities, got the oil changed in my car, bought a futon since I have this big ol' hole in my living room, paid off my mattress and went grocery shopping.

And I still have a bunch left. I'm going to splurge a little and put the rest into a savings account. One of my "little" splurges was a plane ticket. I'm flying down to see Special K and Baby J over Halloween weekend. Thanks to Priceline, I got the tickets super cheap so my guilt is minimal. I haven't seen Baby J since last December and I severely miss the little monkey.

So, my bills are paid, I've got an entire jar of Nutella waiting for me in the kitchen and, for the first time in a long time, I feel free. How frickin' awesome is that?

So that explains my near euphoric happiness of late. Sure, I'll have to pay it all back later, but by the time I'll have to, I'll have a job that pays me living wages and I'll be able to make those monthly payments without having to give up food. Wheee!

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com