Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

One of those courses on how to control rage would be nice.


2003-07-03 at 12:43 a.m.

Well, crap. Here's my latest "The University Library Is Slowly Sucking My Soul Out From My Eyeballs" story.

Since school is out for the summer, the university library is on summer hours and I only work two days a week. Thursday and Friday. I had to seriously re-configure my normal schedule to do it since I normally work late nights at the University and days at the little library. So, those two days, I work during the day at the University and then head straight over to the little library where I work until it closes at 9:00 P.M. It's only slightly hellish.

Anyway, I made it CRYSTAL CLEAR when I signed on to work this summer that my hours could not be changed. I had already inconvenienced a fellow employee by changing my hours, and since there are only 3 of us who work at wee library, there isn't room for manuvering. Well, let me rephrase that: I thought I had made it clear.

I was working at the little library today, like I always do since it's a fucking Wednesday when I get a call. It's my supervisor over at the University wondering where the hell I am.

Well, since she called me at work, I think she figured it out, but I confirmed to her that I was working. She wanted to know why I wasn't at the University.

I said, "Because it's Wednesday."

She then informed me that I had been put on Wednesday duty this week because of the 4th of July. No one had asked me if I could work, no one had even bothered to notify me. I went over my e-mails and I never got anything from anyone about working today. Nevertheless, she's mad at me. I have "greatly inconvenienced her." Luckily, she informs me with a long suffering sigh, "she'll think of something."

Normally I don't cuss, but Jesus Fucking Christ on a Stick.

These people are amazing. They treat me like crap, pay me less than the student workers, over-work me, assume that they are more important than the public library so I should rearrange my work schedule to accomodate them and then they wonder why I haven't RSVP'd for the library picnic or contributed any ideas for the fucking spirit float.

I know when I go into work tomorrow (Thursday, when I FUCKING WORK) that she is going to say something, and so is the boss lady, more than likely. I only pray that I am able to bite my tongue and smile through the blood. I may hate this job with the heat of a thousand suns, but I need the money.

I apologize for all my cursing. I am really, really, really, really mad.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com