Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

College Life:Revised


2001-09-08 at 8:51 p.m.

Picture in your mind the stereotypical college senior�s apartment: discarded pizza boxes and beer bottles, dirty pants and funky smelling socks, books and papers strewn about. Now, picture in your mind the stereotypical college senior�s lifestyle: late nights, hazy mornings, laziness followed by nights of intense work, usually accompanied by piping hot Styrofoam containers of coffee and cursing.

Have you got that firmly placed in your mind? Wonderful. Now I would like to tell you about my senior year, so far. Picture my apartment, but, instead of discarded beer bottles, picture baby bottles, no dirty pants and funky smelling socks, rather, nausea inducing dirty diapers. Books and papers? Try rattles, pacifiers and baby socks that mysteriously disappear and then reappear. And the lifestyle? If my nights are late, it�s for a completely different reason, though, luckily, I don�t handle the late night shifts. I can�t be too lazy or irresponsible, and my habit of flitting from one thing to another with no scheduled plan is out the window.

From the above paragraphs, you have probably concluded that I had a baby. Well, you�re wrong. I did not have a baby. My friend did. And I did what is alternately the nicest and stupidest thing that I have ever done. I volunteered to help her out. To live with her and baby this year while we both complete our college educations. I have been back in school for three weeks. I have changed diapers, made formula, washed wee little socks, soothed a crying infant, learned more things about the human body than I ever wanted to know and more.

My story isn�t that heroic. If you want heroic, talk to my friend, who shoulders this immense burden. Long after my year is up, she will still be a mom.

Have you ever seen a baby roll over on its own? Or get its first tooth? Have you ever made a baby laugh? Or played hide and seek with a blanket? I don�t know, it�s odd. But, I see the people my class and younger, running around, wondering what to wear, and I feel completely detached. I hear their problems and I want to laugh. What�s his name doesn�t like you? Well, baby is sick and the health insurance hasn�t come through yet. I win.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com