Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Bad Karma


2003-06-18 at 2:15 p.m.

I am in hell, again.

I swear, I must have some severely bad karma swirling around me right now. Maybe I was mean to handicapped kids in a former life, or maybe I made an old lady cry. I have no idea. Bad past life self! No cookie!

It's summertime which means the little kiddies are here in full force. Actually, they aren't little. They are evil litte pre-teen bastards. You remember being 13, right? Remember what an asshole you were? Well, multiply the asshole factor by 8 and you'll have my current situation.

Most of them are girls, rolling their eyes at me, reading Rolling Stone and Seventeen while talking about how hot Eminem and those guys from Good Charlotte are. And the boys are even worse...picking up books like Princess Lessons and mincing around the library, talking shit behind my back and sexually harassing the girls who don't actually seem to mind.

If you gave me a billion dollars and a night with Matthew McConaghey, I STILL wouldn't want to be 13 again, yes even for Matthew McConaghey. I hated growing up and I currently relish being 23, even if I despise the responsibility.

I will grow old with glee, knowing that no one can tell me to clean my room or what time I have to be home at night, or that I have to clean the kitchen. WOOHA! I am 23! Take that mom! I left my underwear on the floor and there's nothing you can do about it!

Ahem. Sorry, anyway, back to the rant at hand...

I know that I will definitely not become a children's librarian. Right now, it looks like I'll either be a general librarian or a reference librarian, at a university. Or, if I become completely unhinged and swear off the public all together, then I will have to become a cataloger and spend all my time in a dark, tiny little back room, measuring books and creating MARC records. Hey, why are your eyes glazing over?

Heh. I really am interested in my library studies, but every time I try to talk to someone about it, they either keel over dead from boredom or tell me that their grandmother is on fire and they have to go. What? The foundations of library science are interesting. Come on...you know you want to know all about MARC records, OCLC, ILL, SIRSI and more!

Hey...come back! Where are you going?



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com