Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Book List


2004-09-11 at 4:39 p.m.

It's September, time for school and time for books! (I got that from a poster)In the interest of promoting...um, thought, here's an abbreviated list of books I've read this year. This list actually isn't even half really, mostly these are just the books mentioned in my currents section and in my journal entries.

Humor me.

Most of them were pretty good. I'm a fairly easy-going critic, it's highly unlikely that I'd be so irritated at a book that I would stop reading it. As you can see from my selection, my tastes run the gamut from serious political works to randy bodice rippers. I read everything. Well, almost everything. I don't read Westerns or inspirational (religious) fiction. Anyway, enough of my rambling. On with the list!

1. The Dewey Decimal System of Love by Josephine Carr

2. Backstabber by Tim Cockey

3. Maggie by the Book by Kasey Michaels

4. Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay

5. The Idiot Girl's Action Adventure Club by Laurie Notaro

6. The Penwyth Curse by Catherine Coulter

7. In Retrospect: The Tragedy and Lessons of Vietnam by Robert S. McNamara

8. Ten Big Ones by Janet Evanovich

9. After the Funeral: The Posthumous Adventures of Famous Corpses by Edwin Murphy

10. The Italian Boy: A Tale of Murder and Body Snatching in 1830s London by Sarah Wise

11. Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim by David Sedaris

12. A People's Tragedy: A History of the Russian Revolution by Orlando Figes

13. The Well of Lost Plots by Jasper Fforde

14. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

15. Eats, Shoots and Leaves by Lynn Truss

16. The Corset Diaries by Katie MacAlister

17. Tall Dark and Hungry by Lynsay Sands

18. How to be a villain by Neil Zawacki

19. Don't Try This At Home by Hunter S. Fulghum

20. Master Assassin: Tales of Murder from the Shogun's City by Shotaro Ikenami

21. Timeline by Michael Crichton

22. Sex and the Single Vampire by Katie MacAllister

23. Bestial by Harold Schechter

24. Living Frugally for Dummies

25. Arrows of the Queen by Mercedes Lackey

26. Bridget Jones' Diary by Helen Fielding

27. Love Bites by Lynsay Sands

28. Complete Stories by Dorothy Parker

29. Reaganism & the death of representative democracy by Walter Williams

30. Under the Banner of Heaven: A Story of Violent Faith by Jon Krakauer

31. Jane and the Man of the Cloth by Stephanie Barron

32. Jane and the Unpleasantness at Scargrove Manor by Stephanie Barron

33. Musashi by Eiji Yoshikawa

34. Bloody Jack by L.A. Meyer

35. The Pirate Hunter: The True Story of Captain Kidd

36. Dude, Where's My Country? by Michael Moore

37. Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them by Al Franken

38. A General History of the Robberies and Murders of the Most Notorious Pyrates by Charles Johnson

39. Freethinkers: A History of American Secularism by Susan Jacoby

40. The Curse of the Blue Tattoo by L.A. Meyer

0 read me, seymour

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com