Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Bathtub Lore and Left Leanings


2004-01-29 at 1:29 p.m.

And the answer is...

The first president credited with having a bathtub in the White House was James Madison in 1814. The first president to benefit from indoor plumbing was Andrew Jackson in 1833.

This is according to a curator at the White House. So there. Now you can say you know the truth, even as the non-believers go forth and sow their lies about Millard Fillmore.


This is an excellent article about the Democratic Party that appeared in the New York Times. Read it. It's so true!

Of course, that makes me wonder, what do I stand for? I've always just said, "I'm a liberal." or "I'm a Democrat." and let that answer the question. But what does that mean? What do I believe?

I believe in equal rights for everybody. Even people who annoy me. I am for gay marriage. I am pro-choice. I believe in the separation of church and state, because government should be rational and religion, by its very nature isn't.

I believe in social programs such as welfare and WIC because I know that sometimes things just get out of hand and a person needs help.

I believe in religious tolerance. I don't believe that war is the answer and I do believe that violence only begets more violence.

I don't think corporations should be running our government and I support strict campaign finance laws.

I believe in more money for education and supporting our public schools and teachers. I believe in supporting our libraries. I don't believe in lining the pockets of the few at the expense of the many, which is what our government is currently doing.

I don't believe that Mars should be a priority right now. We should take that money and fix our problems down here, on earth. It's like buying a television when you don't have any food.

I support gun control laws. Do you really need an Uzi to hunt deer? Are the deer armed? No, I don't think so.

I think the Patriot Act should be repealed. I think Bush and all his cronies should be kicked out of office for blatantly stealing and lying. Bill Clinton lied about sex, these guys lie about much worse.

I believe in the Kyoto Protocols, the Clean Water and Clean Air acts and I think people who drive SUVs should be smacked around.

That's what I believe. Does that make me a Democrat? I don't know. But it does make me left leaning and deeply suspicious of our current government.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com