Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Do Not Taunt Happy Fun Mailman


2003-11-17 at 1:22 p.m.

Today is the first day of hunting season. There's no mail and school is out. It's like a holiday around here. Good lord, do I live in white-trashville or what?

Since there's no school, the gentle children who can't fathom shooting bambi for sport have come here to bother me. Nothing makes my day like refereeing computer-time death matches between the kids and the daytime regulars. The Mormons are especially vicious. I can't tell if they're the same Mormons who were here all the time when I started or if they're different Mormons. The village hosts about 5 young missionaries, but I'll be damned if I can tell them apart. They all look alike and refer to each other as "Elder".

On another note, I don't like to think of my mailman armed since he's psychotic. My first run in with him was the day I went to the post office to start my mail service. I had to install a mailbox on the property and he gave me a 45 minute lecture about where the mailbox could go and how high it had to be, etc. He won't deliver the mail if my car is parked less than 5 ft. away, he won't deliver the mail if there's a car parked in front of the box, he won't deliver the mail if there's snow, he won't...hell, it's a miracle we ever get our mail.

My mailman in El Paso drove around in a cute little mail truck and got out at every house. Butch, our mailman (who I used to call Chuck and now who I call Bitch), will not get out of his truck for anything. Ever.

He has an enourmous handlebar mustache like a villian out of Dudley Do-Right. He has ripped the sleeves off of all his postal uniforms to show off his big, meaty tattooed arms and he wears ripped up jeans and ass-kicking boots. You do not fuck with Butch. Ever. Scary. His postal truck is a Jeep with a little yellow light on top and a gun rack. Didn't I tell you I lived in a sitcom?


Currents...

Currently watching:Peacemaker Kurogane. SOOO MANY BISHOUNEN!

Currently listening to:OP and ED songs to Peacemaker Kurogane

Currently reading:Books and articles on law libraries. Ugh. I have a paper due.

Currently thinking:I should have a taser. That way, any time a patron pissed me off...ZAP! I wish I was armed.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com