Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Pop Culture Mallet


2003-06-30 at 2:16 a.m.

Ooh, I am exhausted. I spent about four hours today being assaulted by pop culture. It takes a lot out of you, let me just say.

I went to the movies this afternoon, and since I was bored and had some money, I saw two movies in one day. Alex & Emma and Charlie's Angels, Full Throttle. It became an unintended but much enjoyed Luke Wilson-fest. Yahoo! And might I add here, I like Kate Hudson. She has gotten to make out with both Matthew McConaghey and Luke Wilson. I have nothing but respect for her.

Two movies in one day, so much being thrown at me. My resistance was so weakened by the time I went in to see Charlie's Angels that I found myself excited about the preview for the Ben Affleck/Jennifer Lopez disaster Gigili.

Luckily, the sheer horror I felt when I laughed during the scene when Ben Affleck's character reads the label on a roll of toilet paper pulled me out of my stupor and back into my usual cynicism.

I was only lukewarm about Bad Boys 2.

The two movies I do want to see this summer are:

1. Pirates of the Carribean (of course! I am suffering from a major pirate fetish right now)

2. The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen

(if only to see Sean Connery say: "That was naughty".)

Everything else I'll catch on video.

So, those two movies add themselves to my grand list of movies that I need to see in 2003.

1. The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King (Viggo! Orlando! Shit, even Elijah!)

2. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (that IS coming out this year, right? Isn't that how it works, one every year?)

3. The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen

4. Pirates of the Carribean

5. Girl With A Pearl Earring

6. Seabiscuit

That's it. 6 movies. Hollywood hates people like me.

Oh, I am inspired by Amblus again.

Here's a list of my current favorite Hollywood beefcake. (Not in any particular order really.)

Top 10

1. Orlando Bloom

2. Luke Wilson

3. Antonio Banderas

4. Matthew McConaghey

5. Johnny Depp

6. Eddie Izzard

7. Owen Wilson

8. Colin Firth

9. Hugh Grant

10. Joaquin Phoenix

Honorable Mentions:

Jake Gyllenhall

Ewan McGregor

Brendan Fraser

Oh man. Now I have to go watch all my beefcake movies. Old School, The Royal Tennenbaums, From Hell, A Time To Kill, U-571, Bridget Jones's Diary, About A Boy, The Mummy, The Lord of the Rings, Desperado, Signs, Moulin Rouge, Donnie Darko and Eddie Izzard's Dress to Kill.

I'd better get started if I want to sleep sometime soon.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com