Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

No badgers were injured during the writing of this entry.


2005-10-23 at 2:35 a.m.

Hmm. I'm back. The interview went well, I think. No badgers were mentioned. I haven't heard back yet, so we'll see.

So now, I'm doing math. I am curious to see what I'd be existing on. I was given a sheet of information on what gets taken out of a salary each month. Let's see, shall we?

*Based on $32,000.00 a year

State retirement: $17.32
P.E.R.A. (I have no idea what this is.
Wait, I just looked it up. Public Employees Retirement Association.) $190.62
Social Security: $165.29
Medicare: $38.66
Health Insurance: $55.59
Life/Short-term/Disability insurance: $2.50
Dental: $4.85
Vision: $2.48

Total: $477.31

Monthly salary: (I think I averaged this:)$2,666.66
Less benefits and such: $2189.36 (averaged, again)
Bi-Monthly: $1094.68 (average)

Now that we've seen income, let's look at expenses: (I averaged most of this stuff out, based on cost of living estimates for the area. God, I am a nerd.)

Rent: (2 bdrm. What the hell, live large, I say.) $605.00
Electricity (everything else is covered with the rent):$60.54
Car insurance: $105.52
Car payment: $307.96
Credit Card payments: $150.00
Student Loan repayments: $170.41
Groceries: $120.00
Phone: $35.00
Internet/Cable: $120.00

Total: $1674.02

Left over: $514.67

Huh. Not too horrible. Of course, I'm sure there will be things I've forgotten to deal with, not to mention fun things. So, really, I'll just be breaking even every month. Considering the fact that I do that now, it's kind of depressing.

But, if I do get the job, then at least I'll have health insurance, as well as vision and dental. And I'll no longer be dependent on my parents, which is a very good thing, indeed.

All this math makes my head hurt. Gahhhh. I wonder if Neverland is taking reservations? I don't wanna grow up!

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com