Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

My dad is wierd.


2004-06-21 at 11:22 a.m.

I called my dad last night to wish him a happy father's day and proceeded to listen in on the strangest conversation I think my parents have ever had, at least since I've been sentient.

Both mom and dad were on the phone and I was thanking dad for another year of sending me money, when quite suddenly, my dad started talking in gibberish. It took me a minute to figure out what was going on since dad talks in gibberish more often than a highly-educated lawyer should, and by the time I figured out that he was speaking in pidgin Chinese, complete with a totally sterotypical accent, my mom was in on it.

They starting yelling 'Tsing-Tao!' to each other and giggling like idiots.

After they got a hold of themselves, mom informed me that dad, while trying out his new DV-Recorder had recorded a Chinese cooking show, which they were in the process of watching when I called.

Apparently, while making some sort of pot-sticker thing, one of the chefs mentioned Tsing-Tao beer, which set my dad off, which in turn set off my mom.

My dad finished off that end of the conversation with a rather politically incorrect joke whose punchline was:

"Fried rice, you flucking Gleek."

*Sigh* My parents are dorks.


I think my luck comes in fits and starts, but I don't mind since it does come, and isn't that what's important?

A few days ago a local college posted a job opening for a Circulation Assistant, part time with benefits.

Holy cow! I, of course, immediately updated my resume and wrote a cover letter, which I then faxed off to the HR department.

Oh my Lord, if I could leave the Library of the Underworld, I would be happier than a pig in slop. I would march in there, tell them to kiss my ass and then commute the thirty minutes every day to work with a smile on my face and a song in my heart.

I mean, my God, is there any contest?

Bad paying job, no benefits, not considered a real employee and treated like crap by the venal fuckheads that work at the Library of the Underworld or...a regular position (year round, natch)with freakin' benefits. They could sucker punch me every time I came to work and I would submit happily if I got benefits.

Hell, I'd punch myself if it meant that I didn't have to wait for Christmas vacation to get my wisdom tooth pulled or be able to go to the emergency room when I injure myself rather than just sucking it up because I couldn't afford it.

Send some good-luck-happy-job karma my way, people!

0 comments so far



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com