Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

News of the Weird


2004-10-16 at 12:48 p.m.

There has been a news explosion in Gem-chan land, but I just haven't had the energy to sit down and write it all out. I'm lazy. But hell, I'm at work right now and it's either this or shelving. Thus, a news update.

My alpha-best friend Moonspark had an on-again, off-again boyfriend she was very much in love with. He was her first...everything. Despite their problems, she still loves him, even now.

He was found dead in his apartment on Wednesday, cause unknown. He had been dead for a few days.

Moonspark was called by their mutual friend and rushed over from work to his apartment where she had the singular privilege of watching the coroner wheel his body out in a bag. She was also interviewed by the police as a suspect because of his mysterious death and her role as ex-girlfriend.

Needless to say, she's a bit traumatized at the moment. And, since she's his ex-girlfriend, she's been told by his friends that she has no right to mourn him, which has sent her into a further tailspin.

And I can't do anything for her because I'm 2,000 miles away. All I can do is listen to her cry on the phone and it damn near kills me.

I've sicced Mistress Chicken on her, so at least I'll know what's going on and I'll know that she has a friend who is not connected with these other assholes to lean on.

Mistress Chicken and I didn't really know this boyfriend. Moonspark dated him for six months and then was on and off with him up until his death. I met him twice and I don't think Mistress Chicken ever knew him, because Moonspark lives in another town about 40 miles away from EP, where she goes to school and that's where they were.

It's sad that he's dead at 27, but I didn't know him all that well, so my primary concern is for Moonspark, who in the past three weeks has gotten into a car accident, lost her sixteen year old cat and now this. I'm glad Mistress Chicken is with her. I can only hope she pulls through this okay.


And now for something completely different. It's been a wild couple of days here at the ranch. I was notified at the Mid-York Library System dinner that my wee library has been ranked #7 in the nation for towns and villages with a population of under 1,000 in Hennen's American Public Library Ratings Index. We're one of the top ten libraries in the country. Last year we ranked, too, at #8. So, we went up one and I'm thrilled.

I run the #7 library in the country (with a population less than 1,000). How freakin' awesome is that?

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com