Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I'm Not Dead Yet! I Feel Fine!


2005-03-25 at 4:22 a.m.

My father always said whenever his staff asked to have Good Friday off, "What's so 'Good' about it? The guy DIED." I come from a type of Christianity that celebrates what the guy did in his life, not his gruesome death, which, let's face it, tends to inspire zealots to acts of "Jesus Loves You" bitchslapping.

The kids don't have school tomorrow, but in the interest of political correctness, the school claims it's because tomorrow is a teacher in-service day. Whatever. Tomorrow the halls of the schools will be deserted, with nary a teacher in sight. The only thing they'll be inservicing is...um, you know, there's no way to finish that sentence without sounding dirty, so I won't.

The Wee Library is open, mostly because
A) With the exception of Christmas, we don't close for religious holidays or for many U.S. holidays either, except for 4th of July, Memorial Day and Labor Day.
B) How dumb would it be to be closed on a day when everyone has time to go to the library?

If we closed for every religious and U.S. holiday, we'd never be open, which, I suppose, would be great for our budget, but not so great for the teeming masses demanding the latest DVD or, god forbid, book.


I'm getting a little annoyed at my staff at the Wee Library because they can't seem to wait to be rid of me. Oh, we all get along fine, but when I took this job, it was pretty clear that I wasn't going to be staying here in E'ville forever, mostly because I couldn't live on what they pay me. But crap, I'm not leaving for at least a year or so, and already people are hovering around me like vultures. I'm not even dead yet.

"Who is going to replace you?" is a constant question. One of my staff people has made it very clear that she wants a shot at my job, which makes me feel a little uncomfortable. She's watching me closely and already plotting what she'd do differently. I feel like a monarch who's slowly dying and my heir wants me to hurry up and kick the bucket so she can take over. Jeez.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com