Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

The One Word Challenge


2004-01-29 at 11:41 p.m.

I had an interesting idea. It was 4 in the morning, my 'interesting idea' time, when my synapses are firin' and my mind is popping with thoughts like: "I really like Dominick Dunne's glasses." You know, useful things.

Anywho, my idea was to e-mail all my friends and relatives (at least the ones in my hotmail address book) and ask them to describe me in one word.

I've heard from almost all of them, except for Moonspark who is probably too busy doing dirty things with her boyfriend to check her e-mail and Mistress Chicken, who never checks her e-mail. And my mom wrote me back but refused to answer on the grounds that it might be incriminating.

Sooo, who is gem-chan according to her nearest and dearest?

I am a quixotic, sarcastic, honest, lonely and eccentric pirate with a dual personality.

The pirate description is courtesy of Baby J who tells anyone who will listen that I'm a pirate and my cat Hilde is gone and that makes me cry. Out of the mouths of babes.

Right. Well, that experiment failed. I had perhaps been expecting something more along the lines of: sexy, brilliant, sexy, funny and sexy.

Did I mention sexy?

You should try it. It's actually kind of interesting to see what people think of when they have to describe you. Of course, it may backfire and you may get back responses like: evil, egomaniacal bitch with bad breath and a personality disorder, but that's why you'd only send the e-mail to people who like you.

Speaking of evil egomaniacal bitches, did I tell you the latest potential tragedy in my life? Well...

My boss at the university library is retiring next month. Her potential successor? That's right. The evil slag. Oh my lord. If she gets the job, I might have to quit. I swear (like a pirate, apparently)she is so evil that I balk at the idea of submitting to her will.

Her evil miasma will permeate the circulation department and turn all who work here into trolls. Oh wait, never mind. That's already happened.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com