Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I'm a procrastinatin' fool!


2004-04-29 at 4:45 p.m.

Ahhh! It's 80 degrees!!

*shock*

Did you know, the day before yesterday, there was snow? I swear, central New York has the craziest weather this side of an evil villain's weather machine. Tomorrow there will probably be a blizzard and then frogs.

Tragically, despite the fact that it's 80 degrees, I'm inside, procrastinating...AGAIN!

I have a paper due at 11 P.M. I've got tweleve pages written so far and I really only have to write about 4 more and then edit the damn thing, but I just can't motivate myself. I think after writing in this journal, I'm going to go take a nap.

I really work best under pressure. Great for getting my mind to work, bad for my stomach. But seriously, writing papers at the last minute doesn't seem to affect my grades. I consistently get As or Bs.

So, I rock! But still! I just want to be done! Gaaahhhh! Stupid school.

Here's an excerpt:

"According to the International Standards Organization, usability is �the extent to which a product can be used by specified users to achieve specified goals with effectiveness, efficiency and satisfaction in a specified context of use.� For academic library web sites, usability is essential in order to best serve the needs of the student population. "

I know, you want more. But I'm just going to leave you hanging. :p

Incidentally, my life of hell has begun early over at the Library of the Underworld. The evil slag has not given me summer hours yet, nor has she made any move to secure the necessary funding so that I CAN work. That means I'll be subsisting on half my normal salary if she doesn't give me my usual hours. I'm starting to get twitchy and she knows it, the bitch.

Today she talked to another employee about scheduling his summer hours RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME and when I asked about mine, she looked over at me and said in a patently obvious 'I know I just fucked you over and you know it, too, but let's pretend I didn't' voice, "Oh, did you want summer hours, too?"

I've worked summer hours FOR TWO YEARS! And she knows it! Argh!

I have a plan of action worked out in which I go over her helmet and under the guise of 'I'd like more experience for library school', I ask the university librarian who is a nice but milque-toasty sort of woman if I can work for another department or work as a floater between departments. I'm fucking handy to have around. They'd be lucky to have me. Hell, they're already lucky to have me, even if they don't care.

See, if I use the 'it's for school' excuse, then it won't seem like I'm defecting from the circulation department because of the evil slag. I tried to refer to her as my boss *shudder* today and I just couldn't do it.

Bah. Now I'm going to go take a nap and pretend I don't have a paper due in six hours.

1 people feel my pain

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com