Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Recipes! Wooo!


2004-04-03 at 10:14 p.m.

I would just like to say that I finished doing my nails today with a French manicure kit and my hands are so sexy that I want to make out with them. I have to stop typing every once in a while to admire my sexy, sexy hands. Ooooohhhhh yeah.

Anyway, I thought today it would be fun to post a family recipe or two because...well...I just found them. I keep my recipes in a phone book listed under whatever they are. For example, marinades are under 'M' and pies are under 'P'. Don't ask, it's just something I do and I'm not worried about confusing anybody. I doubt anyone would try to call '1/4 cup soy sauce' or send an e-mail to '2 cloves of garlic'.

I found my recipe-phone book under my bed today during one of my rare fits of cleaning. So...recipes. I grew up in the Southwest, as you will see...


Ex-Aunt Wilma's Pecan Pie That She Can't Know We're Enjoying

(Don't tell my uncle's ex-wife that we're enjoying her signature pecan pie. She'll blow a vein and call her lawyer.)

Ingredients:

3 eggs

1/3 cup white sugar

1/3 cup light brown sugar

dash of salt

1/2 cup light Karo syrup

1/2 cup dark Karo syrup

1/3 cup melted butter

1 1/2 cup pecan halves

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees

In a mixer, beat eggs quite fluffy. Cream in sugars and salt. Add syrup and keep beaten and frothy. Add butter last and then stir in pecan halves.

Pour in a pie crust. Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes. (Baking should never take more than one hour.)The center of the pie will still be liquid. The pecans on top will have risen and will have started to pull apart. It will look like a dome. This is normal. Do not panic. Allow the pie to set for several hours before serving. Seriously. Keep your hands off.


Fun With Grits-Chili Cheese Style

Ingredients:

6 cups of water

1 1/2 cups grits, uncooked

2 teaspoons salt

3 eggs, beaten

1 pound Longhorn cheese, shredded

3 teaspoons savory salt

Dash hot pepper sauce (Tabasco, baby! I actually use more than a dash.)

Dash paprika

1/2 cup butter

Dash Worcestershire sauce

1 4oz. can chopped green chilies, drained.

Bring water to a boil. Cook grits according to instructions on box. Add remaining ingredients. Mix well. Bake in a 9 x 12 inch dish for 1 1/2 to 2 hours in a 250 degree oven. You may prepare it ahead and refrigerate it.

We serve this little number with a flank steak that's been marinated in my Grandpa's "Secret" marinade that he got off the back of a Heinz bottle fifty years ago and colseslaw. I mean we also serve coleslaw, not that we marindae flank steak in it, which would be gross.

Mmm mmm! Now I'm hungry!

0 comments so far

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com