Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Right On.


2003-11-18 at 2:57 p.m.

Well now. I have managed to secure a loan through another institution, at a percentage rate that is very much like Guido, the bookie, might have given me. However, I am in no position to snark, so I will take my reaming with dignity.

I was teaching a computer class for beginners, a cute bunch of old people who want to e-mail their grandkids since they never call or write. One of the sweet old ladies in my class just pressed a fiver in my hand and said, "This is for you, honey, for helping me."

I'm not sure what the etiquette is for tipping librarians. I suppose I should have given it back, but shit, I'm poor. So, I thanked her and pocketed the cash. If only patrons were expected to tip 10-15 % with every transaction!

10-15% of what, you might ask. I dunno, book value? Hm. If that were the case, then I would heartily encourage all our patrons to check out that mammoth book on European palaces that costs about $85.00. "I know you only read $2.00 western paperbacks, mister, but let me tell you, Hawkeye would shit his chaps if he saw this place!"

Tee hee.

Anyway, there's news everywhere! I got that apartment, the $375.00 one and I am happier than a pig in slop. So now I just have to do the moving thing. Okay, I was happy. Moving sucks!

It's funny. I'm really only moving across the street from my old place, but thanks to the wizards that dwell wherever the hell county lines are drawn up, I have to re-register to vote because I now live in a different county. Bleargh.

So, expect lots of future snark on the perils of moving across the street and across counties.

Oh, I can't believe I didn't mention this before! You know how my former landlord was a church? Well, tee hee. My new landlord owns the bar next door to the apartment building. From sanctity to sin. That bar, by the way, is like Cheers. Everybody knows your name and they're always glad you came. It's real cute, all the drunken old men flirting with the wizened old barmaid.


Randomness...

This woman who bitches at me daily because we don't have a lot of DVDs (HELLO! LIBRARY! BOOKS!)repeatedly asks me for 'Captain Nemo' even though I correct her every time she asks. She wants 'Finding Nemo'. (An aside, she doesn't even really want to watch it, she just wants it because it's a DVD. Jesus lady, join Netflix!)

We're going on two weeks here of her asking me for 'Captain Nemo'. I swear on all that is holy, the next time she asks, I'm going to throw '20,000 Leagues Under the Sea' at her.


Currents...

Currently Watching: Still watching Peacemaker Kurogane, but let's throw a little Inuyasha (fansubbed, thank you very much, eps. 115-120) into the mix.

Currently Listenting To: MTV2 Handpicked (I know, it's the 'man', but it's got some surprisingly good stuff on it, including a little Tenacious D! GO KYLE! GO JACK!)

Currently Reading: My scary Promissory Note that threatens to break my kneecaps if I default on my loan.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com