Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

In which Gem-chan gets screwed


2004-05-05 at 3:24 a.m.

Evil Slag: 1

Gem-chan: 0

Well, she got me. She wanted to get me and she did.

More specifically, the Evil Slag did not give me hours this summer, which means that I will not have a job, which further means that I will be surviving on about half my income for the next three months.

But what makes this whole thing even more maddening is that she deliberately went out of her way to screw me and then made sure I knew it. She sent an e-mail to all the people who did get hours this summer to let them know and "accidentally" included me on the e-mail list. She also gave my usual summer hours to another employee who has only worked for the library about eight months. A little thing called seniority, what with me working there FOR TWO YEARS, is evidentally not something she cares about.

According to some of my co-workers, who are, gratifyingly, pissed about this, I have an official grievance that can be filed with the Human Resources dept., since she was so blatant about screwing me and even bragged about it. Did I mention that? SHE GLOATED.

But, you know, I'm tired. I'm sad and tired and I have absolutely no urge to go through all the paperwork and processes to file said grievance only to be told "too bad" in the end, after I made sure that no one would ever hire me at the University again.

So, I quit. Oh, not officially, but as far as I'm concerned, I'm outta there. I've worked my ass off and this is how I get repaid. As a staff member and as an alumni, I was screwed. So, Brimstone University can kiss my ass because as far as I'm concerned, I am no longer affiliated with them.

But like I said, they don't know it yet. The Evil Slag is expecting me to show up in August to work my hellish shift, but I'm going to take advantage of the informality of the whole thing and just NOT SHOW UP. Then they'll have to scramble around to find someone as desperate as I am to work those shitty shifts. Oh, I'm gonna burn that bridge, burn, baby, burn.

I don't need their recommendations and I sure as hell don't care what they think of me. I will go flip burgers at McDonald's before I go back there.

I'm going to have to find another part-time job because, obviously, I can't live on $10,000.00 a year. It's below the federal poverty level and I have tuition bills and rent and lots of other bills to pay. So, somewhere out there is another part-time job that won't give me an ulcer, make me cry or make me so miserable that I call up my father in hysterics because I won't be able to afford to pay the bills next month.

Somewhere out there...

1 comments so far

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com