Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

In which I cherub rock, disarm my critics, taunt a rhinocerus, say hello to Starla, talk about being blue and dream about tonight. Obscure music references for everyone!


2005-01-07 at 12:55 a.m.

Raaarrr. I'm bored. The kind of boredom that refuses to be sated. No book, no movie, no television show can save me. I'm dooooomed!

Back when I was in high school, I was severely obsessed with the Smashing Pumpkins. It was a 24/7 job. I had no time for anything else. I kind of miss having an obsession. Sure, it was exhausting, but it was also never boring.

If I had a free moment then I was on the 'net (Compuserve, in all its skanky ol' glory. Ahhh...the internet in 1994. When taking 30 minutes to download a picture was NOTHING!) trolling boards looking for Pumpkins info. Or organizing my tapes of Pumpkins news, videos and interviews. Or searching for merchaindise, or pouring through rock magazines, searching for stories to cut out and put in my SP scrapbook, or daydreaming of moving to Chicago, suddenly developing talent and becoming a rock star, and then going on tour with the Pumpkins. I know. It was lame. Shut up.

I don't really obsess over anything anymore. Mostly because I've become excrutiatingly lazy and I just don't have the energy to stalk people anymore.

But at least in high school, as horribly lame as I was, as annoying as I was to friends and family (You have a birthmark? OMG! Billy Corgan has a birthmark!), I was never bored.

Bah. I need something to do.

Maybe I'll go search online for info on ghosts and stuff to scare the beejeezus out of me because lately I've been on a horror movie kick and I'm kind of depressed because video circ at the library has outstripped book circ so I need the distraction, otherwise I'll tear my hair out. That was a run-on sentence. I do that a lot, apparently. English teachers and lovers of the English language, I apologize.




< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com