Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Awww!


2004-08-24 at 2:42 a.m.

Well, just as I work myself up into full-blown disgruntled-ness something nice happens to utterly deflate my rage. Which is kind of a bummer, actually, because being in a rage is fun.

But anyway, I went into work today despite the fact that it's my day off because the meeting room is being re-painted and otherwise re-modeled and I need to fix it up. So, while I was in the back hauling around boxes and cursing the people who "generously" donated two huge boxes of Reader's Digest Condensed books, my staff person came in and told me I had a phone call.

A woman from the African American Society was calling because she wanted to tell me something. Apparently, she had called the local elementary school to inquire about something and during the conversation, she asked who was in charge of the local public library and she was told about me, the "head cook and bottle washer" who the kids loved and was very popular with the community.

Little ol' me? *Sniff*

Then she said that she had heard the same from some people in the village office. She just wanted to call me and tell me what she'd heard.

Well, damn. I'm verklempt. Watch me while I do my best Sally Field impression, "You like me, you really like me!" .:wails:.

That's just so...so...nice. I know I made the right decision in staying here and not taking the better-paying job with benefits. I'll just have to keep reminding myself that when people call and demand money from me. But I'm happy with my career and honestly, how many people can say that?

Oh, I'll still be pissed about the Library of the Underworld, but luckily that's not a career, just a way to pay for my cable. And give me fodder for this journal. (If I'm still employed there, which I still haven't heard about. Argh.)

I really feel like I'm making a difference and helping people, which is, incidentally, the reason I decided to become a librarian. I know you all thought it was because I enjoyed giving people fines and smiting evil little children and correcting their grammar, but really, those are only secondary reasons.


Currents...

Currently Reading...

Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay

Currently Watching...

Adult Swim on Cartoon Network

Pretty much anything on A&E

Currently Hearing...

Keane, 'Hopes and Fears'

Franz Ferdinand, 'Franz Ferdinand'

Current Nail Polish Color...

L'Oreal Jet Shine: Las Vegas

0 comments so far



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com