Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I am officially 'on the shelf'.


2005-10-10 at 12:57 a.m.

Argh!

So, I went to see 'In Her Shoes' tonight because I was:

a) Bored
b) Intrigued because I read the book.

It was cute in a girl-power sort of way, although I really had to resist the urge to bitch-slap the main characters sometimes.

But, what made me go 'Argh!' and sink into my seat in embarassment was when the potential boyfriend of Rose (Toni Collette) spied a smutty paperback on her coffee table. She claims it belongs to her airhead sister, she's clearly embarassed by it. So, P.B. mockingly reads it aloud. The message: frumpy Rose, who has no self-esteem, is "fat" (by Hollywood standards, i.e. an 8) and has no love life reads romance novels to get her jollies.

That might have prompted only a bit of self-mocking recognition on my part if it hadn't gotten worse. The novel? 'Captain Jack's Woman' by Stephanie Laurens. Own it? Own the whole damn 'Bastion Club' series to which 'Jack' is the prequel. Accckkkkk! And, ARGH!

Are those Stephanie Laurens novels really that cheesy? Hell yes. Turgid nipples are on fire everywhere you look. Manhood(s) pop out of pants like rabid squirrels (should I make a joke about these rabid manhood squirrels frothing at the mouth? Noooo, I'll just move on.), bosoms are flying about and Lord knows what else. It's a regular Bacchnalian (sp?) orgy. And Lord, I buy them. God help me. I am that pathetic spinster. Argh!!



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com