Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

I've Got Your Spirit Right Here


2003-07-02 at 4:26 a.m.

I find it slightly funny and a little annoying that I got these two e-mails on the same day:

From: Judy D.

Sent: Mon 6/30/2003 11:56 AM

To: Minions

Cc:

Subject:Circ Desk/Jobs

Judy N. is extremely annoyed about what goes on at the front desk or lack thereof.

Please:

NO games on the computers

NEVER 2 people sitting at the front desk, especially while one is reading a magazine

NO long conversations with patrons, especially when someone else is waiting or another staff member has to stop what they are doing to assist because you are engaged in conversation. Be brief. Do not detain patrons.

She sees two people at the desk and a long line of trucks still waiting to be shelved???

The library budget is extremely tight right now and she is looking for cuts.

She has asked if we could assist people with the microfilm machines (not change toner) since reference will be short-handed during the next month. Of course I told her "yes." There will be training and she will be in touch with you (not Ricki and Polly).

If you do not know what to do when not on the desk, ask Polly in my absence.

Judy

And then, I get this...

From: Ann K.

Sent: Mon 6/30/2003 3:27 PM

To:LIBR - University Libraries

Cc:

Subject:Spirit Day Float

Anyone want to contribute to a library entry for the Spirit Day float contest?


Are you laughing as hard as I am?

Seriously, this is enough irony to last me about a month.

Needless to say, I doubt I'll be contributing to the spirit day float.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com