Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

So long and thanks for all the stress!


2005-05-12 at 12:42 a.m.

I'll talk about my mini-trip to NYC later, but first, a rant.

So, I get "volunteered" to take care of the invitations to my brother's wedding rehearsal dinner. Fine. I bought the stationary, spent Lord-knows how many hours screwing around with Publisher to get all the formatting correct and then printed up 75 of the damn things. Then I spent another half an hour stuffing envelopes and putting return addresses on them.

All I ask is that someone, ANYONE sends me the damn addresses. How can I send them if I don't know to whom or to where they go? Big Al was supposed to get the addys to me on Monday night. Nothing.

Okay. I know my brother's under a lot of stress with the wedding and work and my dad. Okay. I acknowledge this. But, at this point, I don't give a tinker's damn. This is on my shoulders now and I said I would do it so he wouldn't have to worry about it (ahh, guilt trips), but Christ-On-A-Pringle, is it honestly so impossible for him to take maybe an hour out of his day to type up a list, find the addresses and send them to me?

And thank you my dear, dear big brother for assuming that I have nothing better to do than wait around for you to take care of this. Little L gave me a deadline and I have the time to get them done NOW. I won't have time in a week or two because I WORK. I GO TO SCHOOL.

I'm not sixteen-year-old Gem-chan anymore, sitting around in my room, listening to depressing music and twiddling my thumbs. Sadly for my thumbs and my depressing music collection, I have a life and not a whole lot of time in it to dedicate to other people's responsibilities. Shoot people, I barely have enough time or energy to dedicate to my own.


Currents...

Currently Reading...
The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams
I read Hitchiker's back in middle school, but I never read the others. I am catching up on all my ironic irreverence now. Also, giving '42' as the answer to everything is hella fun.

Currently Hearing...
The sound of my head hitting the wall in frustration.

Currently Watching...
Who has time for T.V.? Okay, I do. Mostly whatever crap is on VH-1 or Discovery Health Network.



< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com