Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Super Gold! Bling!


2004-03-03 at 1:11 a.m.

I changed my layout. Bye, Strongbad. Me love you long time, but it was time for a change. So, viva Converse! The only brand of shoe I've worn consistently since the third grade, back when I had turquoise Converse high-tops. Yes, I was THAT cool. Now, I have the "once was white, but now is kind of gray" pair with a wee bit of duct tape holding the sole onto the left shoe from middle school, and my black pair, which still rock steady after seven years. Woo!

The vending machine at the University Library now offers Diet Dr. Pepper. WOOOOOOOO! I am near orgasmic at the idea that I might be able to choose from more than just Diet Coke and...Diet Coke. Now if they would just offer Diet Cherry Coke, I would be less disgruntled at work. Or maybe not.

In other news, I have just signed up for a super gold account. I am super! Mostly, I just wanted one of those comment thingies at the bottom of my entries. All the cool people have them.

That and I get like a million banner views. So now I have even more opportunities to show off my mad banner making skillz.

Banner 1

Banner 2

Both with Dorothy Parker quotes. I was thinking of making one showcasing my current belief that Teddy Roosevelt should be dug up, reanimated and run for president. Something with a slogan like: Talk softly and carry a big stick, and some air freshener." Or, "Fiscal Responsibility and BRAINS in 2004". Hee hee. Lord, the strange things that go on in my head. Seriously, you DO NOT want to be in there. It's wierd.


Here's an interesting question: Who's your favorite artist(s)? I personally have several, which can be blamed on two things:

1. My mother's near slavish devotion to Sister Wendy the randy art nun and

2. My minor in art history.

So, anyway, here's my list of favorite artists:

1. Alphonse Mucha

2. Edward Gorey

3. Antoni Gaudi (Yes, he's an architect, but I consider his buildings, especially Sagrada Familia, to be works of art.)

4. Toulouse Latrec

5. Casper David Friedrich

6. William Blake

7. John Everett Millais

8. Artemesia Gentileschi

That's all I can think of right now. So I have this wierd Romanticism/Art Nouveau/Pre-Raphaelite/Baroque vibe going on. Huh.

(P.S. I never thought I'd ever write the words 'randy art nun')

Woo! Comments!

3 A Peanut is neither a pea nor a nut. Discuss.

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com