Mark Twain

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.


Dorothy Parker

Ducking for apples - change one letter and it's the story of my life.


Bertrand Russell

There is much pleasure to be gained from useless knowledge.

Whine, bitch, moan


2004-08-23 at 7:03 a.m.

Sooo...I've reached an all-new level of ghetto-poverty.

I've been renting furniture because I wanted to get an all-around white trash experience, but today I'm giving it up because I can't afford it.

That's right. I have officially become so poor that I can't even RENT furniture for something like $40 a week.

So, no more bed and no more couch and chair. I am approaching this whole thing with an upbeat, 'pretend I'm camping' type of attitude. I will live in a large nest of bedding until I can afford to be semi-ghetto again as opposed to full-fledged ghetto.

If I don't find a second job, next to go will be the cable and internet connection. New York state is freakin' expensive, y'all. And all those crazy phone stalker people from India who have replaced good old American phone harassers have little sympathy for my plight.

I blame that evil whore at the library of the Underworld, mostly because she's a convenient foil for my rage.

I had to apply for my old job there and I'm so hard up for money that I'm perfectly willing to swallow whatever is left of my pride and be her little bitch. If she hires me back, that is.

If she doesn't...well...then I will be very, very angry. And you don't want to make me angry. Not when my internet connection is on the line!

I'm just tired of trying to keep up with all the bills, of trying to have money at the end of the month, of not being able to do little things like go to the movies or eat out once in a while, tired of scrimping so I can do laundry, tired of not being able to afford gas for my car, tired of eating soup all the damn time, tired of not being able to splurge on fun little things. All of this...it makes me tired.

But I chose it. I chose to work at the wee public library, I chose to stay up here to help a friend and get my master's degree. I could have gone to work for Corporate America or gone home to mom and dad, but, for better or for worse, I chose this.

Good Lord, am I an idiot or what?

0 comments so far

< < last ... next > >


Find me...

E-mail
Notes
Registered!







My blogger code: b8 d+ t- k- s u- f i o+ x e- l+ c (decode it!)


The current mood of Gemchan at www.imood.com